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I play a devoted defender character from Sword and Fist. 
I was wondering when the Armor Class (AC) bonus 
affects my character. The AC bonus footnote implies that 
the bonus applies only when my character is defending 
his charge from an attack, but the AC bonus class feature 
section implies my character gets the bonus at all times. If 
my character gets it only when defending his charge, does 
this mean that it applies only for harm’s way? Or can my 
character be, say, 20 feet away from his charge and still 
give and get the AC bonus? My character uses both 
ranged and reach weapons. 
 A devoted defender gets a dodge bonus to Armor Class 
when actively defending her charge from attack (see Table 2–
2: The Devoted Defender in Sword and Fist). The DM is free 
to define “actively defending her charge from attack,” but the 
general intention is whenever the devoted defender is within 
5 feet of her charge. There are conditions when the character 
will be denied a dodge bonus despite sticking with her charge 
(see page 119 in the Player’s Handbook). A devoted defender 
never gives her charge an Armor Class bonus, although the 
devoted defender’s harm’s way and deflect attack abilities 
can keep attacks from hitting her charge. 
 
 How is the ghostwalker’s painful reckoning power 
supposed to work? Sword and Fist says that you get this 
bonus after you lose 50% or more of your hit points in an 
initial encounter. Does this mean that if my character is at 
50% or less hit points in the middle of a fight, I get this 
bonus for the remainder of the fight? Would I also get the 
bonus if one or the other party flees and the fight happens 
with the same foe again at a later date? If so, do I have to 
wait until I drop to 50% of my hit points or less before I 
get the bonus? How many “initial encounters” can be 
stacked up? I can count numerous times that one party 
fled a battle only to have it happen at a later time in the 
campaign, and these were fairly numerous. I could see 
this rule getting abused if used in this fashion. What kinds 
of things is the bonus effective against? What other 
bonuses does the painful reckoning bonus stack with? 
 If the ghostwalker finishes an encounter and has lost 50% 
or more his hit points during that encounter, he forever after 
gets his painful reckoning bonus against the foe or foes he 
faced in that encounter, provided the ghostwalker is alive 
when the encounter finishes. The DM has to decide when the 
encounter is “finished,” but if one side or the other flees, 
that’s pretty much the end of the encounter. The bonus does 
not automatically apply whenever the ghostwalker’s hit 
points fall below 50%. 
 Once a ghostwalker gains a painful reckoning bonus 
against a particular foe, he can’t gain it again against the 
same opponent. (Though if the ghostwalker goes up a level, 
his painful reckoning bonus goes up against all foes.) He 
does not, however, have to wait until his hit points fall below 
50%; he gets the bonus whenever he faces the foe again. 
 A painful reckoning bonus applies to Armor Class, attack, 
and damage rolls, as noted in the class description. It stacks 
with all other bonuses except itself. Note that the Armor 
Class bonus applies against touch attacks and when the 
ghostwalker is caught flat-footed or otherwise denied his 
Dexterity bonus. 
 

 The order of the bow initiate prestige class has a class 
ability called close combat shot that lets a character fire a 
ranged weapon while threatened by an opponent without 
provoking an attack of opportunity. Can a character 
using this ability claim or provide a flanking bonus while 
using this ability? 
 No. Nor does the character threaten the area around him. 
The character cannot use his ranged weapon to make attacks 
of opportunity against foes. 
 
 The Pain Touch feat from Sword and Fist makes an 
opponent the user has stunned with a successful stunning 
attack nauseous as well. What is a “stunning attack” and 
what good is making a foe who’s already stunned 
nauseous? 
 In this case, “stunning attack” is a successful use of the 
Stunning Fist feat from the Player’s Handbook or the monk’s 
stunning attack power. Opponents who fail their saving 
throws are stunned 1 round, as normal, then nauseated for 1 
round after that. (See page 280 in the Player’s Handbook for 
the effects of nausea.) 
 
 The prerequisites for the Pain Touch feat are base 
attack bonus +2 or more, the Stunning Fist feat, and a 
Wisdom of 19+. The Stunning Fist feat itself requires an 
attack bonus of +8 or higher, so aren’t the Pain Touch 
prerequisites in error? 
 In this case, no. The monk’s stunning attack counts as a 
“virtual” Stunning Fist feat and any monk with a base attack 
bonus of +2 or more and a Wisdom of 19 or higher can 
qualify for Pain Touch. 
 
 How does the Circle Kick feat work for a monk or 
other character with multiple attacks? Or for a monk 
who uses a flurry of blows? Does each successful unarmed 
attack roll allow a second attack against a different 
opponent? 
 A character using Circle Kick makes one attack. If this 
single attack hits, the character makes a second attack at the 
same attack bonus as the first. 
 
 How does the Dirty Fighting feat work with multiple 
attacks? 
 Just as with Circle Kick (see previous question), a 
character using Dirty Fighting makes one attack and adds an 
extra 1d4 points of damage if the attack succeeds. Dirty 
fighting is not effective against opponents that are not subject 
to critical hits. 
 Dirty Fighting isn’t a bad deal if you’re allowed only one 
attack a round, but it’s not a great option for high-level 
characters. You might consider an Improved Dirty Fighting 
feat: 
 
Improved Dirty Fighting [General] 
You are a master of the brutal and effective fighting tactics of 
the streets and back alleys. 
Prerequisites: Base attack bonus +6, Dirty Fighting 
Benefit: When you perform the full attack action, you can 
give up your regular attacks and instead make one melee 
attack at your full base attack bonus. If successful, your 
attack deals extra damage, as follows: 
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Base Attack  Extra Damage 
+5 to +9 +2d4 
+10 to +14 +3d4 
+15 to +19 +4d4 
+20 or more +5d4 
 
 Can a rogue use Dirty Fighting in the same round as a 
sneak attack?  
 No. Both rely on the ability to smack the foe where it 
really hurts. 
 
 How does the Lightning Fists feat work with multiple 
attacks or flurry of blows? Can you combine Lightning 
Fist with a flurry of blows? 
 Lightning Fists works exactly like a flurry of blows, except 
that you add two extra attacks and you take a –5 penalty on 
all your attacks. Lightning Fists actually isn’t a very good 
option unless the opponent is really easy to hit or you can 
expect to deal a lot of damage with each hit (or both). You 
cannot use Lightning Fists and flurry of blows at the same 
time. 
 
 If you have the Snatch Arrows feat, can you use it only 
once a round, like the Deflect Arrows feat? Or can it be 
used multiple times in a round?  
 As the feat description says, Snatch Arrows works exactly 
like Deflect Arrows, except you catch the missile instead of 
just deflecting it. You can try to catch one missile each round, 
and if you do so, you cannot also try to deflect a missile that 
same round. 
 
 Say my monk has the Snatch Arrows feat and the 
Throw Anything feat. Can I catch an arrow or bolt and 
throw it back at the attacker?  
 No. The Throw Anything feat allows you to throw a 
weapon. Ammunition is not a “weapon” for this purpose. Nor 
can you throw something that is not a melee weapon, such as 
a bow or crossbow. 
 
 How often can you attempt Feign Weakness against one 
opponent? Does the Bluff check take a standard action or 
is it a free action? 
 You can use Feign Weakness as often as the DM lets you. 
You might want to add a +5 to the foe’s Sense Motive check 
for the second and further attempts against the same foe on 
the same day.  
 Using Feign Weakness is a standard action, just like a feint 
(see the Bluff skill description on page 64 of the Player’s 
Handbook), except that if you succeed you get to make your 
attack immediately. 
 
 Does the fighter with the Knockdown feat get a free 
attack from Improved Trip against a creature that he 
trips due to a knockdown? 
 No. 
 
 If you have the Prone Attack feat, can you regain your 
feet as a free action if you don’t attack? 
 Technically, Prone Attack only lets you get up for free if 
you make a successful attack. I suppose you could claim to 
attack the floor (using the strike an object rule) and then get 

up if you hit it; remember that any attack automatically fails 
if you roll a 1. In any case, you have to at least use the attack 
action to get up, so you can make only a single move after 
getting up. 
 
 What classes from the Sword and Fist book, if any, can 
combine their attack bonus with monk attack bonus for 
purposes of getting multiple unarmed attacks?  
 The classes that let you freely multiclass with monk (the 
red avenger and the weapon master), and the drunken master, 
who gains multiple unarmed attacks at the monk’s favorable 
rate, can combine them. 
 
 Is there any limit to how many 5-foot steps a master 
samurai can make when using the supreme cleave ability? 
The Cleave feat says you can attack another creature in 
the immediate vicinity when you drop a foe with a melee 
attack. What is the definition of “immediate vicinity?” 
How does that change when using supreme cleave? 
 A character can take only one 5-foot step each round, and 
then only if the character has not otherwise moved during the 
round. Supreme cleave lets you step between cleave attacks, 
but you still can step only once. 
 In the case of Cleave, “immediate vicinity” means within 
melee reach. A character using supreme cleave can first take 
a 5-foot step to determine who is within melee reach before 
choosing a target for a cleave attack 


